Gallery

Students Go to Belize – Reflections from Laura Adair

Reflections on the work trip from Laura Adair (Class of 2017):

Being from California I have never been able to go home for Guilford’s fall break; and as always Frank Massey invited me to come on the work trip with the Friends Disaster Service group, also known as FDS. This has been a routine trip for me every fall that I have been at Guilford, so of course, I was so excited. However, once I received the list of people who were going I started getting a little nervous because I didn’t really know anyone going on the trip. Since I really didn’t have any other option, I decided to go knowing what a rewarding experience it is to help build a house and to have discussions with people who don’t have the same experiences as me. It started with a very quiet van ride to Evergreen Virginia especially because I was in the van with only four Guilford students. Thankfully, once we arrived at our destination silence was never a problem again. Almost all of the other students knew each other, being either first-year students or international students that had crossed paths before. I, thankfully, was welcomed immediately by many of the older FDS workers who remembered me even though it had been almost two years since I’d been on a work trip.  All of the international students and people I didn’t know from Guilford welcomed me into their circle. As the week went on our relationships grew stronger, our work got better, and our laughter was louder. By the end of the work trip, whole group had grown much closer and really felt like a family. It was so wonderful to be building a house for someone in need while building our own community with all of the people from Friends Disaster Service, United Methodist Disaster Response and the Guilford College students.

Leave a Reply

